synoptic project phase 3

my job role is concept artist and a 3D modeler for our game, we all will also be taking part in researching and the production schedule of our chosen idea, the chosen idea will be a western saloon where a murder has happened in the saloon, you are to explore around the area and sounds will be playing depending what room you are currently in.

Models I have made:

Table model

FSDNHIPFJipjwe

Bottle model

sddsfsd

Bar sign model

Capturesd

Ashtray model

Capture1

Cigarette model

ffgteg

Cig pack model

dfhry

Spit bucket model

ikminhfnjWD

Chest of drawers model

dfsfdgte

Drawers with mirror model

unhibsdv

Keg model

dgghtrthr

Door model

djunjunadf

Saloon door model

hfaethare

Knife model

nhfijinnf

Piano stool model

kjkuyjk

Poker card model

cvgbv

Shot glass model

ggyuhu

Top hat model

jokdkvfi

As you can see above I have made a bunch of models from our asset list to put into our western game. I have made things from knifes to spit buckets and all in between for the saloon.

I have currently completed the modelling side of my asset list, what I need to do now is to work on the texturing part.

for the Texturing I have done the play cards as you can see below

play card com

from what you can see i have fully textured this card by adding the king to it, it was very simple and easy after i unwrapped the model itself in the UV editor.

models I have completed (Textured/Coloured):

Poker Card

Table

Hat stand

Top hat

Saloon door

Door

Bottle

Shot glass

Ashtray

Drawer

Drawer with mirror

Keg

Cigarette

All major assets have been textured/coloured for our game and trailer

Trello

trello.PNG

Capture.PNG This is my teams trello page and as you can see, we have set it up into category’s with task like teams and individuals, this shows you what we are currently working on and have finished.

You can see what I have contributed to on the trello page and from this current blog.

Posters and Covers:

Back cover

This was made in Photoshop and from what you can see it is our back cover for our game.

c1

Front cover

This is the front cover for our game as you can see it will be called Tombstone saloon and it features a tombstone as the front art for our game.

 

c2

Game poster

This poster was made in Photoshop, as you can see I have used silhouettes for the poster to give it a western feel.

c3

WireFrame and Evidence of coloured models:

As you can see this is a wire frame of my drawer with mirror model, you can see all the polygons on the model and exactly how it looks as a transparent object.

As you can see I have coloured some of my models to give the effect that they are textured, it was fairly simple with only needing to add new materials (Lambert) and then dragging the colour box to the colour that I desire/Think is suitable to its model.

Presentation Progress:

Box art (completed)

Presentation (Completed)

Game Trailer (Completed)

Renders (Complete)

Presentation board (Completed)

Summary:

Pre-Production

I found this phase to be simple and straight forward, I had little difficulty making the concept art and the Asset list, The pitch for my game was based on vikings but we had settled with Robs idea of a western saloon.

We did our story board, Play board and we faced no problems what so ever in the planning phase as it was fairly simple and ideas was solid at the time.

We started working on the layout of our level and planned on where we would have all the assets, stairs, walls, etc.

Main-Production

For our main production I only focused on modelling during this entire phase, I had made all the models above to show my contribution to the team, the only problem I had during this phase was the timing as we had not textured all the models we have made.

We had to think of another solution to our models being non textured, we decided to add colours to our models with the use of lambert in which I used a slider to darken or lighten the colour I set from the colour box.

The only model what wasn’t made is the Piano, as I had started polishing the existing models in Maya, We started working on our presentation during this Phase and continued to update it based on how much we have done for our work.

Travis was making our level using our assets while Rob assisted me with the asset list (Model list) in which we made 20+ models for our saloon game.

We came out of this phase a bit unsure of the quality of our work but settled on it as it wasn’t bad at all, just that we needed to texture our models in which we ran out of time with.

We have everything else done from sprints to scrum meetings all being up to date, and that we felt more confident in presenting our presentation with the constant update of our work.

Post-Production

Post production phase was just more concept art and covers for our game in which we have made atleast 3 different cover art for our game, In which we had settled on the cover art that is on this Blog above e.g my work on Photoshop.

The problems we faced during our post production was that our member Travis was ill and that we couldn’t continue our work for unreal and do some renders for our presentation board.

I feel we made fair use of the colours as that has saved the game looking completely bland.

So we decided to make a temporary Unreal level just in case our member was still off, Another problem for this phase was that we ran out of time and had to do a quick Cover art for the game in which I am not proud of (My art), If I had more time I would of made the art a lot better and actually add things like publishing company’s which are Microsoft, Sony, etc.

We continued to update our Scrums and Finished forming the Sprints, Overhaul our work is fairly good, if we had more time I can say for definite that our game and assets would be better, We have the level layout spot on and that it still looks fairly nice even without textures, we have music and a lantern with a working light in our game.

We had managed to get everything done with the Renders and Game Trailer, etc

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment